TBRs

August 2017 TBR: The Month of Required Reading

Hello Bookish Buddies, and welcome to my August TBR!  If you haven’t noticed from the title and from the title of my Cinder review, I’m trying to add interesting sneak peaks into my posts so you all can get a better sense of what they’re gonna be about.  So yeah, this month, unfortunately, is the month of required reading. However, I will be ignoring that to read stuff I want to read and probably end up reading sparknotes in the end.  You guys, I love reading, but I hate being told what and when to read.  Anyway, assuming I can finish Words on Bathroom Walls tonight, this is my August TBR.

  1. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte – I don’t know how to do the dotty things over the e. Sorry.  Anyway, this is a rare occasion in which I am assigned a book for school that I actually want to read. I mean, she gave us the option of watching the movie, which I assume most of my class is going to do, but I wanna read this book.
  2. How to Read Literature Like a Professor by Thomas C. Foster – This is yet another assigned reading book, which isn’t to terrible. I’ve already started it and the author knew he was writing it for bored teenagers, so he made it funny.
  3. On the Spectrum by Jennifer Gold – Yay! Finally a book that I chose for myself!  I received this ARC on NetGalley and it comes out in mid September, so I supposed August is a good time to read it before it actually comes out.
  4. To Look a Nazi in the Eye by Kathy Kacer – This is another NetGalley ARC that comes out in mid September, which I requested because I love WWII/Holocaust fiction. Clearly, if you read my blog often.
  5. The Rise of Nine by Pittacus Lore – I’m about half way through this one already, and I want to finish it before I start ACOWAR so I’m not reading too many books at once.  I do want to start ACOWAR very soon though.
  6. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas – I have 200 pages left! It’s going to be the first book I finish this month because I really want to get into ACOWAR. I’m going to binge read it as soon as I can, however that may not be that soon.  I’m almost done with class and work though, so hopefully I’ll be able to finish this entire 10 book TBR.
  7. A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas – I can’t stand not reading this book any longer.  Plus, my friend is going to explode if she gets back from Sweden for school and I haven’t finished it.
  8. Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabríel Garcia Márquez – This is the required book that I’m least excited about.  I hope there’s less love and more cholera.
  9. When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon – This is the contemporary book of the month for the YA Book Blogger’s group on Goodreads.  I’m really excited to see what all the hype is about.
  10. This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab – I have a confession. I have never read a Victoria Schwab book.  And it’s about time.  This is the fantasy book club book of the month for the YA Book Blogger’s group on Goodreads, and I’m really excited to read it.

What do you plan to read in the month of August?

6 thoughts on “August 2017 TBR: The Month of Required Reading

  1. Ahh I really need to get to ACOWAR too… I plan to borrow it from a friend who hasn’t finished reading it yet so I am having to wait. I haven’t read any Victoria Schwab either but I have heard so many good things so I definitely plan to. Good luck getting through the required reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

