Tag Friday · Tags and Other Fun Things

The Ultimate Vacation Book Tag

Hello, Bookish Buddies, and welcome to the Ultimate Vacation Book Tag!  As it is summer, I would hope all of you have time to go on some ultimate vacations!  I am going to Wyoming in a couple weeks to visit the Grand Tetons, so that should be fun! Anyway, I was tagged by my friend Rendz @ Reading With Rendz over a month ago, so it’s about time that I get to this tag.  I don’t know if I’m supposed to choose TBR books or books I’ve read for this tag, so I’m going to choose one of each.  Also, thanks to the creator of this tag, brookiecowles.com, for creating this tag! Let’s get into it!

It’s the dead of winter and you are escaping to a tropical location. Hours in the sun with a book are on your “to-do” list. What book do you bring with you?

I always take advantage of the winter season and read whatever holiday books I can find, so I’m going to go with a couple happy holiday anthologies for my winter tropical vacation.

TBR: Let it Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle – I think this is the only John Green book I haven’t read (*notices I still haven’t read Will Grayson, Will Grayson after writing this*), so I want to read it. I really love John Green.

Reread: My True Love Gave to Me edited by Stephanie Perkins – I really enjoy these seasonal anthologies.  I think my favorite story in this one is the one by Holly Black.

You see the first signs of spring and your heart beats faster with the thought of warmer days. You are escaping for a nice cruise to herald in the warm weather. What book do you bring to accompany you on the decks of the ship?

When I think spring cruise, I think adventure (and pirates), so I’m bringing some books with some epic boat scenes.

TBR: Passenger by Alexandra Bracken – This book has been on my TBR since it came out, and I really want to read it.  It sounds epic.

Reread: Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas – This book is giant, so boat voyages aren’t the main focus, but there are some epic battles that take place on boats/in the ocean.

Summer has arrived! You spend your weekends camping in the mountains. Fresh air, trees, animals, and campfires keep you company on your outing. What book do you bring to read next to the sound of the flowing creek?

Okay, first of all, no I don’t spend my weekends camping in the mountains.  I’ve had enough camping for one lifetime.  I will spend my weekends in a nice cabin in the mountains though.  For some reason horror books come to mind (probably because of the idea of camping), so I’m bringing:

TBR: Asylum by Madeleine Roux – I seriously want to read this book.  I have it on my shelf and everything.  I’ll probably be reading it this October.

Reread: The Miss Peregrine’s Trilogy by Ransom Riggs – No, I can’t pick one.  I liked the sequels better, but I’d honestly love to marathon them all.

Fall is approaching. Nothing makes your happier than crunchy leaves turning red and orange and purple. You bring a book to the local park to read on a bench under the whispering trees. What book do you read?

TBR: After the Woods by Kim Savage – From the moment I added it to my TBR, I knew this book was going to be epic.  Now to read it.

Reread: Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin – Let’s be real, anytime is a good time to reread Wolf by Wolf, but I think the park during the fall (in a different city, because LA doesn’t have seasons) would be the ideal atmosphere to read it.

Christmas is in the air. Lights, and carolers, and shopping. You want to curl up next to the fireplace with a good book that reminds you of comfort. What do you curl up with?

Since I already unknowingly did Christmas books, these books will just be comfort reads.

TBR: The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon – Since Everything, Everything was such a happy and quick read, I’m hoping this one will also be.

Reread: I’ve already some up with so many of these, but I’m just going to go with my first thought, The Selection by Kiera Cass.

Winter lasts sooooo long. You need something to remind you that the sun will come out again. What book to you read to take you away on the vacation you wish you were going on?

TBR: Mosquitoland by David Arnold – My friend gave me this book for my birthday last year, and I feel like this suits the prompt both literally and metaphorically because it’s about a road trip and mental illness.

Reread: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson – So this one is more metaphorical, but it’s a great book.  I need to reread it anyway.

As some of you may know, I like to tag my newest followers so I can get to know them better, so I tag:

No pressure to do this tag, but I’d love to see your answers!  Also, if you have done or are going to do this tag, link it below so I can check it out!

4 thoughts on “The Ultimate Vacation Book Tag

  1. Hi Bella, I like how this book tag sets the season to put you in the mood for certain books. LOL, yes, “anytime is a good time to reread Wolf by Wolf” because Ryan Graudin is an amazing author. I’m still finding time to read Blood for Blood. Hopefully after these last few arcs I have, then…

    Great books in this tag, Bella!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

