Wrap Ups

June 2017 Wrap Up

Hello, Bookish Buddies! I hope you had an awesome June! It is now that time for me to make a shit post about all things that happened in June and all things that are coming up in July!  I call them wrap ups, if you couldn’t tell. And surprise! You’re reading one right now!  It’s probably not a surprise though because you’ve chosen to read this post. Incase you were wondering, yes, I am strange.  Anyway, let’s get into all of the things.

Reading Overview

  1. Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore – I am so sad that I am out of Graceling books to read. Therefore, I will be rereading Graceling and possibly the rest of the trilogy again in the near future.  I’ve decided that I’m going to review the series as a whole instead of each book individually, so that’s coming up at some point. Anyway, I gave Bitterblue 5/5 stars.
  2. The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani – I really loved this book. You can see my full review here. I gave it 4/5 stars.
  3. A Face Like Glass by Frances Hardinge – I also really loved this book.  You can see my full review here. I gave it a 4.5/5 stars.
  4. The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson – Although this book isn’t really a horror book, all of the characters had the “be a dumbass in the face of danger” trait that every horror movie/book character has.  Nonetheless, I enjoyed it. My review for it should be out shortly.
  5. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas –  This was a reread, and yeah, I enjoyed it. It’s a Sarah J. Maas book, it’s hard not to enjoy them.
  6. Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller – No, I didn’t finish it this morning. I don’t know what you’re talking about. I completely finished it in the month of June. And it was epic.  My review should be up eventually (depending on when this comes out because it’s an ARC).
  7. Harry Potter y la piedra filosofal por JK Rowling – I finally finished this shit! Yay!  Dear god it was difficult! I really wanna read Harry Potter in English now.

Statistics

For nerds like myself
  • 6/7 were from my original TBR
  • In total, I read 3,050 pages
    • That’s about 102 pages per day
    • The average lengths of the books I read was about 436 pages
  • I read 3 physical books, 3 ebooks, and 1 audiobook
  • My average rating was around 4.25 stars

Blogging/Reading/Writing Updates

I have two of these, this month! The first is that I’m joining the July round of the Summer Comment Challenge, hosted by Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense and Lonna @ FLYLēF.  I have again pledged to comment on five of my partner’s, who happens to be the Lonna @ FLYLēF, posts.  Hi Lonna! I’m really excited to be your partner in this challenge!

The next update is about July’s Camp NaNoWriMo! After failing miserably in April, I’m excited to try again and hopefully fail a little less miserably.  This time, instead of attempting to create a full length novel out of nothing, I’m just going to write a bunch of short stories with random prompts from a random prompt generator.  Hopefully that will feel less daunting to me. Also, since Top Ten Tuesday is on hiatus until mid August, I think I’m going to be doing writing posts on Tuesdays instead.  I have yet to figure out what that means, but you’ll see on Tuesday if I’ve figured that out.

Life Update

Summer is in full swing here in Los Angeles (seriously, if you live in a colder climate would you mind letting me stay at your place for the summer? I’ll pay rent), which means rest and relaxations…occasionally.  I have a job now, so that takes up most of my time on Tuesdays and Thursdays. And I’m taking an online computer science class, which takes up most of my time at every other point.  It’s fun though. I programed a bunch of unicorns to make a rainbow. But yeah, I have a lot more time and that’s really nice.

How was your June?

6 thoughts on “June 2017 Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

