WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesday (Jun. 14, 2017)

Hello, Bookish Buddies, and welcome to this week’s WWW Wednesday, hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words! I’ve actually made progress on my reading, for the first time in months! Let’s get into it!

What am I currently reading?

I just noticed all of the covers are a different shade of blue and that is really pleasing to me. Anyway:

  1. Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore – I’m so close to being done with it and I don’t want it to end! I need another story in this world because I’m so in love with it!  I’ll post a series discussion once I finish it (and maybe reread Graceling).
  2. The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson – My friend picked this book up at the library and I had a copy, so we decided to read it together.  I’m enjoying it so far, but it’s one of those books where they’re obviously in mortal peril and the characters are just being dumbasses.
  3. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas – I’m falling in love with Rhysand. Especially after rereading ACOTAR and now going back into ACOMAF, I love him a 1000x more. I don’t know how my appreciation for him is just hitting now. I mean, I appreciated him before, but now I just do so much more.
  4. Mask of Shadows by Linsey Miller – I was so scared this book was going to be a let down, but it’s not. It’s wonderful so far. It’s such a riveting read.  This book is everything I initially wanted Throne of Glass to be and more.
  5. The Inexplicable Logic of My Life by Benjamin Alire Sáenz – This book is a bit darker than Ari and Dante, but it is classic Sáenz writing. I like it so far.

What did I recently finish reading?

  1. The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani – I finally finished it and I really enjoyed it! You can check out more of my thoughts (plus a rant about Tedros) here.
  2. A Face Like Glass by Frances Hardinge – I also really enjoyed this book!  I saw it at Barnes and Noble the other day and I kinda felt like it was my baby because I read it as an ARC. Does anyone else feel that way when they see ARCs they’ve read in stores? Anyway, more of my thoughts are here.
  3. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas – If this reread taught me anything, it’s to appreciate Rhysand more, as I was talking about earlier.  I thought about reviewing it, but I decided against it because my perception of it was skewed after reading ACOMAF.  Instead, I will do a series discussion when I finish ACOWAR.

What do I think I’ll read next?

8659601

The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore – Ever since I finished I Am Number Four, I’ve been anxious to get into the sequel. Hopefully it’ll still be available on Overdrive when I finish Bitterblue!

What are you reading this week?

7 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday (Jun. 14, 2017)

  1. I’m interested to see what you think of Name of the Star. I really enjoyed it but it was definitely different from what I usually read. I read the whole series so far and enjoyed it, though I’ve been waiting too long for the final book.

    You have to let me know when you finish ACOMAF so we can do our buddy read of ACOWAR. I’m still high off of Rhysand feels from that book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

