Tag Friday · Tags and Other Fun Things

Totally Should’ve Book Tag With Naomï @ Bookish Sins and Wins

Hello, Bookish Buddies, and welcome to this exciting collab post with Naomï @ Bookish Sins and Wins! My computer decided to be a little shit today and break, so I’m writing this on my phone, because the show must go on! I’ll fix the formatting once my computer gets its life together. 

Anyway, this tag was created by Emmmabooks and gives you the chance to talk about all the things that totally should’ve happened. 

1. Totally should’ve gotten a sequel

Naomï: ‘Uprooted’ by Naomi Novik definitely deserves some kind of sequel. It’s a standalone with a very satisfying ending, but I just would love to get more books set in this very atmospheric world. So I wouldn’t want a direct sequel, but more like a companion novel set in a different time period. 
Bella: I wish I’d read Uprooted so I could agree, because I had trouble thinking of and answer for this one. After painstaking minutes of contemplating, I wish Fire by Kristin Cashore had a sequel. It is already a companion to Graceling because it’s supposedly “in the same world,” but they’re kind of two different dimensions. I want a sequel that links the two worlds better because I love the Graceling world. 

2. Totally should’ve had a spin off series

Naomï: This one probably has been answered with ‘Harry Potter’ a million times. And I love the series, but I think that one should’ve stayed a seven-book series. We know have the eight book, which a lot of people hate, and this movie franchise (which I’m not sure about). I don’t think I want any spin off series right now. All the fantasy books with many characters already have new books added to them, novellas or companion series.

Bella: I see where you’re coming from, Naomï, but I do really want a spin off series about the Mauraders. Or one about Dumbledore and Grindlevald. Or both. I am Harry Potter trash, honestly. 

3. An author who totally should write more books

Naomï: I would go with Ernest Cline, the author of ‘Ready Player One’. He has also written ‘Armada’, which I still want to read, although it doesn’t have great reviews. He writes sci-fi novels about gaming and I kind of want to read some more of those.

Bella: I have to go with Rainbow Rowell. She hasn’t released anything in a while and hers are part of the few contemporaries that I can stand. 

4. A character who totally should’ve ended up with someone else

Naomï: Hermione should’ve totally ended up with someone else. I haven’t read the ‘Harry Potter’ series in about four years, so I am not sure about book Ron, but movie Ron and Hermione shouldn’t have ended up together. I just wanted someone with a totally different personality than Ron to end up with Hermione, someone smarter and more cunning. 

Bella: I agree with that. Movie Ron and Hermione’s relationship was really uncalled for. However, they were kind of adorable in the books. Book wise, although this was never a thing anywhere but in fan fiction, Dorian and Chaol should have ended up together in ToG. As well as Manon and Elide. Or Manon and Asterin. Sarah J. Maas’s books are just so painfully heteronormative. 

5. Totally should’ve ended differently

Naomï: ‘Requiem’ by Lauren Oliver. That ending wasn’t satisfying and really vague.
Bella: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard. I might still be interested in it if that one thing near the end hadn’t happened. 

6. Totally should’ve had a movie franchise

Naomï: There are so many movies and TV shows based on books right now, it’s becoming a bit ridiculous. Some are great and others are terrible (in general or as adaptations). I do love to watch romance movies and romantic comedies, so let’s go with a contemporary. ‘Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour’ would be a lot of fun to watch on the big screen. I mean it has a road trip, playlists that could be played in the movie, a sweet romance and some deeper themes. 

Bella: Staying on the contemporary road, in going to say Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe. I feel like it would make such a beautiful film. 

7. Totally should’ve had a TV show
Naomï: ‘The Percy Jackson and the Olympians’ series has already had a terrible adaptation. I think a TV show might suit Rick Riordan’s books and the world he created. Each episode could follow a small adventure of some of the characters of his series. I would rather have that than a direct adaptation.

‘The Selection’ trilogy could be fun too, as it is similar to many dating shows. 
Bella: A Percy Jackson TV show would be so fun! I’d watch it. I think I get enough Selection vibes from The Bachelor, and knowing TV writers, it would be way too sappy and dramatic. It has potential though. I think I’d want to see The School for Good and Evil as a tv show. 

8. Totally should’ve had only one point of view

Naomï: I often even really like it when a fantasy follows multiple characters, because you get to see a larger part of the world. But I hated ‘The Calling’ by James Frey. And part of that was because of the million (okay, maybe I am over exaggerating a bit) POV’s this book had. 

Bella: I feel that. I just read A Face Like Glass, and although I loved it, I wish it only had one POV. 

9. Totally should have a cover change

Naomï: The ‘Blood of Eden’ trilogy is a dystopia where vampires have taken control over cities. It’s dark and gritty, so no sparkly vampires. It has a bad-ass main character and a sarcastic side character (in book 2). It however deserves a way better cover. 


This was the original cover, and let’s just agree that close-ups of faces are atrocious.

(Bella: And that blood tear is too much)


This series already has had a cover change and apparently this was the best they could come up with. Yes, this series is dark, but I don’t need the cover to be almost entirely black. The matching covers of the other two installments are blue and purple, but they don’t do this trilogy justice in any way. (Still better than the original though.)
Bella: For this one I have to go with These Broken Stars


This is probably just the nitpicky graphic designer in me, but the photoshop on this cover is terrible. It’s pretty at first glance, but the lighting and not to mention the physics are all wrong. 

10. Totally should’ve kept the original covers
Naomï: The Ranger’s Apprentice series is a fun middle grade fantasy series. Let’s take a look at the covers of the fifth book, because they explain my frustration the best. This is the original cover, it’s decent. There are no people on the cover, it has a nice font and fits the story.

(Bella: I think it was this one. This picture didn’t go through in the message)


Then they change the cover into this:


I mean, what is this? It looks like a cheesy cover from ages ago. I hate how the different fonts look together and the part that says ‘Ranger’s Apprentice’ in general. And also someone with really fake ‘Medieval’ clothes on the cover.
Bella: That guy looks like a douche. Anyway, I have to go with The Winner’s Curse trilogy. Although I haven’t read it yet, I would much prefer this on my shelf…


To this (which I have)…


If there character it is portraying would not ordinarily stand in a field posing with daggers wearing highly illogical fighting clothes. 
11. Totally should’ve stopped at book one

Naomï: ‘Delirium’ by Lauren Oliver should have stopped at book one. The first one had an interesting concept and I liked it. Book two adds in a love triangle and the third installment has a super vague ending. 

Bella: Anna and the French Kiss should’ve stopped at book one because the rest of the books just wine down hill from there. 

What do you guys think totally should’ve happened? Let us know down below and follow Naomï to see some more cool stuff, including our second collab post on Monday! 

4 thoughts on “Totally Should’ve Book Tag With Naomï @ Bookish Sins and Wins

    1. Same! Although I think it’s hard for Rowling to screw up. She didn’t really write the eighth book. Totally read Ari and Dante, it’s so good. Perfect for summer!

      Like

Leave a Reply

