Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Books That I’ve Recently Added to My TBR List

Hello, Bookish Buddies, and welcome to my first Top Ten Tuesday post in a long ass time! I’ve missed this meme a lot, since school has kept me away from my blog, but school isn’t a thing I have to worry about for the next three months! Yay! Anyway, this meme is hosted by the Broke and the Bookish, and this week’s topic is Books From X Genre That I’ve Recently Added to My TBR List.  Since there’s no rhyme or reason as to what books I add to my TBR, I’ve decided to take out the genre part from my post and just talk about the last ten books I’ve added to my TBR. Let’s get into the books!

1. You by Caroline Kepnes
20821614

I found out about You yesterday in Hannah @ A Clockwork Reader’s Slytherin Book Recommendations video, which features books with morally gray characters. Since morally gray characters are my favorite kinds of characters to read about, I thought I’d check it out.

 

 

 

2. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

6185I heard about Wuthering Heights from the same video mentioned above, and it sounded cool.  It also features morally gray characters and it’s told in alternating timelines, which is also something I love in books.

 

 

 

 

3. The Gender Game by Bella Forrest

31131467The Gender Game was actually recommended to me by Goodreads, and I read the first few sentences of the synopsis, so onto the TBR it went.

 

 

 

 

 

4. The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler

22840182Despite what you may think from my many rants about how much the contemporary genre pisses me off, I’m always looking for new ones I might enjoy.  I read a review of The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by my friend Naomï, and it sounded like it had potential. I suggest you check out her review, she gives some good insight into the book.

 

 

 

5. We Are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson

23677341-2

We Are the Ants is a favorite book of one of my favorite booktubers, BooksandLala.  It also sounded like a book I would enjoy, so I added it to the TBR.

6. The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan

7090447

The Red Pyramid was recommended to me by Carol (I’d link you, but wordpress doesn’t want to show me your blog for some reason) on one of my Percy Jackson reviews.  She said she was interested to here my thoughts on it, so onto the TBR it went.

7. Into the Bright Unknown by Rae Carson

18054074-1

Seeing as I enjoyed the first and second books of this trilogy, I wanted to make sure I had the last book on my TBR for when it is released.

8. Broken Skies by Theresa Kay

20764638-1

I read a post by someone I forget (if you wrote a post featuring this book and your opinions on it, please comment below so I can link to your post) who really enjoyed this book, and it sounded really cool.  From the Goodreads synopsis, it sounds a lot like The Fifth Wave.

9. A Northern Light by Jennifer Donnelly

64481-1

So I heard about A Northern Light quite a few years ago (the end of eighth grade, to be exact) from my favorite english teacher.  She was talking about using this book for summer reading instead of A Tree Grows in Brooklyn for the next eighth grade class. I personally felt robbed because I was bored out of my mind reading A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, and here the next eighth grade class was getting to read an epic mystery.

 

10. Future Shock by Elizabeth Briggs

26722944Recently, I’ve been getting a lot of newsletters from authors I’ve never heard of, so I’ve just been adding their books to my TBR. Future Shock is one of those books.

 

 

 

 

 

Tell me about the last book you added to your Goodreads TBR!

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books That I’ve Recently Added to My TBR List

  1. I’m always looking for good contemporaries so I added The Summer of Chasing Mermaids to my TBR. It sounds good! Also Wuthering Heights is just something I need to read as it is a classic and seems like one I would enjoy.

    BookTube Side Note, I also love the Booktubers you mentioned, especially Lala. I love her closet unhauls and look forward to them every month.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Kane Chronicles is Rick Riordan’s best series hands down. I adore all of the characters to this day.

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awesome, I’m super excited to check out the Kane Chronicles! I guess my tips for a new blogger and reviewer is to just be yourself and let your audience get to know you. Comment conversations can also be super fun. I’ll definitely check out your blog soon!

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Interesting list. It’s nice to see others love reading diversity as much as I. Definitely adding You by Caroline Kepnes and Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte to my TBR list. After Fingersmith (♡) by Sarah Waters I lost myself for a weekend in Catherine M. Wilson’s trilogy When Women Were Warriors (♡). To cleanse my palate before diving into the Pink Bean series by Harper Bliss I read How The Hippies Saved Physics by David Kaiser. Tonight I’m going old school with Wilderness Trek by Dorothy Tell. INPUT OVERLOAD! Eventually the cathartic task of downloading the character voices building up in my head will take over and I’ll address my keyboard and getting back to my writing. Until then… happy reading. 😘

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

