TBRs · Wrap Ups

May Wrap Up and June TBR

Hello Bookish Buddies! If you follow me, I know what you’re thinking.  Doesn’t she usually do her wrap up and TBR in separate posts? Or you may not have been wondering that, but I’m going to answer it anyway.  Yes, I do, but this month I shamefully finished no books. I DNF’d two (Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout and Crossing Ebenezer Creek by Tonya Bolden), both because of instalove and I was not in the mood to put up with that shit.  This month was the last month of Junior year, so I had very little time to read, and I did not want to spend that time reading facepalming at terribly fleshed out romances.  But I have been reading some pretty good books that I just haven’t had the time to finish.  Reviews for those should be coming out soon.  Enough of this rambling, I’m just going to use the rest of this post to share some blog updates and my TBR!

Blog Updates!

So I’ve signed up to take part in two blogging challenges!  They both seemed super cool and they seemed like an awesome way to make some new friends, so let’s get into talking about them.

The first one is Mikaela @ The Well-Thumbed Reader‘s Big Blogger, Little Blogger challenged, in which a big blogger (with 100+ followers) is paired with a little blogger (under 100 followers) and they kinda just become friends and help each other out.  I have been paired with the lovely Naomï @ Bookish Sins and Wins, so definitely check her out. We are planning some fun posts together, so stay tuned for those!

The second one is the Summer 2017 June Comment Challenge, hosted by Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense and Lonna @ FLYLēF.  The title is pretty self explanatory. I pledged to comment on five of my lovely partner, Maggie @ The Caramel Files‘, posts throughout the month of June, so I will be doing that and she will be commenting on mine.  Feel free to join in on our discussions!

June TBR

I know what you’re thinking (unless you haven’t looked down yet), I always make these unreasonably long TBR’s, so what makes me think I can read 11 books this month.  My answer: bitch it’s summer vacation!  Yay! Sorry if that sounded aggressive. That wasn’t my intention. Anyway, it’s summer, and I’m already more than half way through a lot of these. So let’s get into them.

  1. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher – This is one of the ones that I am in the middle of. I was planning on buddy reading this with my friend Becky, but then finals happened and I was accidentally a total asshole and I didn’t get far at all. But hey, it’s summer now and I hope to finish it so I can binge watch the show. I hope the show is better because the book is not as good as I remember it being.
  2. Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore – After loving Fire not so long ago and Graceling pretty long ago, I can safely say I am loving this book so far.  Yeah, it’s one of the ones I’m in the middle of and it’s one of my favorites of the bunch.
  3. The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani – This has been on so many of my TBR’s, but I’m almost done with it. I really enjoy it. Sophie is a little shit. Let’s move on before you get bored.
  4. A Face Like Glass by Frances Hardinge – This book has such an Alice in Wonderland esk vibe, and I hated Alice in Wonderland, but I really like this book. I feel like this book is what Alice should have been. If you couldn’t tell, I’m in the middle/end of it. Also, publisher, I’m sorry my ARC review is so late. I feel really bad about it. The book’s been out for about a month now.
  5. A Mask of Shadows by Lindsey Miller – Finally one I’m not in the middle of! I hit the request button on the NetGalley ARC of this book so fast when I found out it had a genderfluid MC in a fantasy world.  I really hope I love this book because I’m so excited for it.
  6. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas – Another reread that I’m in the middle of. I despised a certain character (you know who it is if you’ve read ACOMAF) going into this book, but after rereading it I hate that character less. I wonder how I will feel going into my reread of ACOMAF.
  7. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas – God I’m so ready for my love to return. That’s all I’m going to say.
  8. A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas – I have been waiting for this book for so long. I am scared. I am excited. I am scared some more. Becky and I are planning to buddy read this one so hopefully I’ll get my life together this time.
  9. The Power of Six by Pitticus Lore – I read the first book a little while ago. I actually had a dream where I was in this world and it was super cool. Minus the being hunted by aliens part.  But yeah, I’m excited to get back into this series.
  10. Harry Potter y la piedra filosofal por JK Rowling – I’ve been reading this book really slowly over the past few months because 1. It’s in spanish, and 2. Overdrive keeps taking it back because I’m slow. Hopefully I can finish it this month because I was almost done with it.
  11. Pivot Point by Kasie West – For those of you who don’t know, I choose one random book off my Goodreads TBR every month to read, and Pivot Point is this month’s book of the month. I’ve been wanting to read it because I’ve been curious about Kasie West’s contemporaries, but I only like a very particular type of contemporaries, so I thought I’d start with her dystopian to see if I vibed with her writing style.

Welp, that was a lot of words. If you read to the end of this post, you get a gold star.

What are you reading in June?

7 thoughts on “May Wrap Up and June TBR

  1. You’re not asshole! It’s totally okay, life happens. I’m so excited to buddy read ACOWAR! Although I’m also so scared too. ACOMAF made feel fall in love with so many of the characters, I don’t know if I handle someone dying. So many of these books are on my TBR haha. Interested to see what you think of Mask of Shadows because I also have an ARC of it that I have to get to before September lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. God, I’m just so scared because this is the first book ending Sarah J Maas has ever released and I don’t know if she’s going to be a ruthless killer. I’m sure she will be. I’m super excited to get to Mask of Shadows, which should probably be soon because I’m almost done with A Face Like Glass. I’m so excited for it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG! I recently got The School for Good and Evil and I’m SO excited about it! I’m also hoping to get the last two books in the ACOTAR trilogy too this month! Crazy! And I ADORE Kasie West – I discovered her earlier in the year and just love the fluff, even though I totally didn’t expect to like it that much! The Big Blogger, Little Blogger challenge sounds SO awesome – will definitely be checking it out! Oh, I think I got the commenting issue fixed on my blog, so comment away! Looking forward to hanging out here this month! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The School for Good and Evil is literary gold. I absolutely love it. I can’t wait to share thoughts about the ACOTAR trilogy! I’m glad you like Kasie West. That gives me hope.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

