Reviews

DNF ARC Review: Crossing Ebenezer Creek by Tonya Bolden

Hello, Bookish Buddies, and welcome to this review (or half way point review) of Crossing Ebenezer Creek by Tonya Bolden.  I am so sorry I have been so terrible about posting lately.  I thought junior year wasn’t as bad as everyone said they were. Then finals happened. So that’s why. Anyway, let’s get to my thoughts about the book.


31451001Award-winning author Tonya Bolden sheds light on a tragic moment of the Civil War in a searing, poetic novel about hope and freedom.

When Mariah and her young brother Zeke are suddenly freed from slavery, they set out on Sherman’s long march through Georgia during the Civil War. Mariah wants to believe that the brutalities of slavery are behind them forever and that freedom lies ahead. When she meets Caleb, an enigmatic young black man also on the march, Mariah soon finds herself dreaming not only of a new life, but of true love as well. But even hope comes at a cost, and as the treacherous march continues toward the churning waters of Ebenezer Creek, Mariah’s dreams are as vulnerable as ever.

In this powerful exploration of a little-known tragedy perfect for fans of Ruta Sepetys, readers will never forget the souls of Ebenezer Creek.


So I DNF’d this book at about the half way point.  I thought it was going to be a heart wrenching story about the Civil War, which there were some parts of, but mostly it just surrounded on of the worst cases of instalove I have ever seen.  I also saw a love triangle on the rise, and I knew I wouldn’t enjoy the rest of the story if these two things carried on.   The characters also felt really one dimensional and I had a hard time connecting with them.

Also, I think there may have been some historical context that I was missing, and without said context, it is really hard to connect emotionally to this book.  However, Bolden seemed to be setting up some dramatic reveals of the characters’ pasts which would have been interesting, but I was not engaged enough to put up with the instalove to find out.

Had this book not focused as much on the romance and more on the history, I think I might have enjoyed it.  However, I would recommend it to you if you are a fan of romance or are not bothered by instalove or love triangles.

Are you interested in reading Crossing Ebenezer Creek? I am interested in what you think of it if you do decide to read it.

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “DNF ARC Review: Crossing Ebenezer Creek by Tonya Bolden

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s