Reviews

Review: I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore

Hello, Bookish Buddies. I just finished I Am Number Four and it hit me right in the feels. I was really not expecting that.  I actually cried, and I rarely cry in general, let alone in books. I haven’t seen much about this series in the bookish community, so if you would like to familiarize yourself with the synopsis, here it is:


7747374Nine of us came here. We look like you. We talk like you. We live among you. But we are not you. We can do things you dream of doing. We have powers you dream of having. We are stronger and faster than anything you have ever seen. We are the superheroes you worship in movies and comic books–but we are real.

Our plan was to grow, and train, and become strong, and become one, and fight them. But they found us and started hunting us first. Now all of us are running. Spending our lives in shadows, in places where no one would look, blending in. We have lived among you without you knowing.

But they know.

They caught Number One in Malaysia.
Number Two in England.
And Number Three in Kenya.
They killed them all.

I am Number Four.

I am next.


My dear cousin has raved about this series for as long as I can remember. However, when she first told me about the Lorien Legacies, I was not in the slightest bit interested in alien monsters. Oh, how the times have changed. If you’re looking for epic sci-fi fantasy featuring alien monsters, this is the book for you.  It was a really fun read with no dull moments, but it was not without its flaws.  Nonetheless, I ended up really enjoying it.

I don’t want you, dear reader, to be deterred from this book because I’m talking about the two main elements I didn’t like in the first paragraph, but I feel that they are important to state early on.  The first one is the totally unnecessary, unrealistic romance. That bugged the crap out of me throughout the entire book. And it was so cliché and instalovey too.  The other thing is the total lack of parental attention all of the side characters get.  Said side characters did crazy things in this book, such as stealing cars and burning down an entire house, without their parents batting an eye. Or at least, it wasn’t mentioned. Okay, enough of the stuff I didn’t like. Let’s get to the stuff I did like.

First of all, everyone needs an ongoing epic fantasy series with an insane amount of books/novellas in their lives. I think this book is a great one to take that title. I can easily see it curing a Sarah J. Maas hangover. Personally, I would think this book falls more under the urban fantasy category than the sci-fi category, because I’m a huge stickler for scientific accuracy, which this book lacked hardcore. But it’s okay because the magic/powers system was so well fleshed out and overall epic.

Another thing I loved in this book was the relationships between the characters (minus the one I mentioned earlier).  Even though they’re all kind of the friendship version of instalove (or instahate, in one case), they were so deep and epic as the story continued. I really love how everyone had each others backs.

I have so many more amazing things to say about this book, but they’re all pretty spoilery, so I will hold back. If you have read this book and you care to discuss with me in the comments, please do!

Overall, I gave I Am Number Four a 3.5/5

Have you read I Am Number Four? Do you want to?

2 thoughts on “Review: I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore

Leave a Reply

