Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Books to Read in One Sitting

Hello, Bookish Buddies! This week’s prompt for Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by the Broke and the Bookish, is books to read in one sitting (in case you couldn’t already tell). Now, fun fact about me, I have the attention span of a fruit fly, so I personally didn’t read any of these books in one sitting (that hasn’t happened since I was in fifth grade, which was a while back), but I think it would be entirely possible to do for anyone with a somewhat normal attention span. Let’s get to it!

10. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

12000020

I’m ranking Ari and Dante #10 not because I didn’t like it (if you’ve read my review, you know I did), but because it’s kinda long. You could definitely still read it it one sitting, but there’s a lot that happens that I personally took time between sittings to think about. Am I weird in the sense that I like to take time to think about what I read before I get back into the reading? I don’t know, I’m just a weird person overall, so it’s fine with me if it is.

 

 

9. Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin

359410Elsewhere is a pretty short book overall, but the world in it is just so fun and engaging that you won’t be able to get enough of it. If it’s a grey, rainy day out and you just wanna binge read a book with a mug of tea by your side, this is the one I think you should pick up.

 

 

 

8. It Gets Worse by Shane Dawson

27274328

I don’t know about you, but I am a huge Shane Dawson fan. I think he’s very clearly improved from his first book, which is why I’m recommending the second. He’s so funny, even if you don’t know him from his YouTube videos, I would recommend checking out this book. Just be warned, he has a very dirty and morbid sense of humor. I really like this book because it’s so funny, but also deals with a lot of difficult issues like grief, eating disorders, and much more.

 

 

7. An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

15707124

I know An Abundance of Katherines is clearly not the best John Green book (even though John Green can do no wrong in my eyes), but it is such a fun read. The main character is a tad on the annoying side, but he shows good development. Also, there are these really cool footnotes in the book with a bunch of fun facts/jokes/other miscellaneous things.

 

 

 

6. More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

19542841

I just finished More Happy Than Not yesterday, when I was so sick and congested I thought my head was going to explode. Anyway, I stayed home from school and binge read 200 pages of this book.  It was amazing, it was touching, the plot twist caught me totally off guard, but I highly recommend it. I’ll likely review it soon.

 

 

 

 

5. Optimists Die First by Susan Nielsen

30335388

As I mentioned in my review of Optimists Die First, this is an incredibly fast read, but its also very dense.  It deals with tragedy and grief, but also features a remake of Shakespeare using cats as the actors. I really enjoyed it and it could definitely be read in one sitting.

 

 

 

4. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

23395680

Now Illuminae is 600 pages, but it reads like it’s way less than that, because it’s told in such a cool format. You can check out more of my thoughts here in my review (haha shameless self promotion). It was my first review too which probably means its crap, but let’s ignore that!

 

 

 

 

3. Not If I See You First by Eric Lindstrom

22701879

This book does not nearly get enough love in the bookish community. Not If I See You First is a wonderful story, featuring a deaf main character who you can’t help but root for, and her adventures with grief and forgiveness. It’s so engaging and I can’t recommend it enough. Go read it!

2. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

18692431

I think this may be the only book on this list that I actually read in one sitting! It was light and happy, even though it wasn’t at some times (forgive my sick brain there), and it has a bunch of cool little illustrations. I don’t really enjoy contemporaries, but I thought this one was pretty good.

 

 

 

1. The Selection by Kiera Cass

10507293This is my guilty pleasure. I had to stop myself from reading this in one sitting because Kiera Cass’s writing is just so addicting. I should’ve hated this story just like I should hate The Bachelor, but her writing is just so damned awesome, I completely overlooked the annoying main characters and all of the clichés. Actually, the world in this series is pretty awesome though. It gets really political in the third novel, I just wish we could’ve seen more.  But if you’re in one of those moods where you just want to waste your time and feel all light and fluffy on the inside, read this.

 

 

What are some books that you read in one sitting that you want to recommend to me? Share with me in the comments or link me to your post!

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books to Read in One Sitting

  1. I totally read Illuminae in one sitting… it wasn’t anything to do with the long car ride I was on (it probably was). I also read Cinder and Cress in one sitting, also due to long car rides.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

