Reviews

ARC Review: The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

Hello, Bookish Buddies, and welcome to my review of The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco.  I’ve been debating whether or not I should do this review, as I DNF’d this book and won’t be able to give you my full thoughts on it, but I decided I owed it to the publisher because they were nice enough to grant me access to an ARC of it.  So, without further ado, here is the synopsis:


30095464The beast raged; it punctured the air with its spite. But the girl was fiercer.

Tea is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy makes her a bone witch, who are feared and ostracized in the kingdom. For theirs is a powerful, elemental magic that can reach beyond the boundaries of the living—and of the human.

Great power comes at a price, forcing Tea to leave her homeland to train under the guidance of an older, wiser bone witch. There, Tea puts all of her energy into becoming an asha, learning to control her elemental magic and those beasts who will submit by no other force. And Tea must be strong—stronger than she even believes possible. Because war is brewing in the eight kingdoms, war that will threaten the sovereignty of her homeland…and threaten the very survival of those she loves.


This book wasn’t for me, as you might already be able to tell.  However, I do recognize what a lot of people have liked about this book.  There is a very elaborate and unique world that unfolds throughout the story and there was a lot of cool necromancy stuff going on. However, there were some characteristics that this book had that made me put it down around 50%.

I think the main reason I put it down was because I really couldn’t connect to the characters.  Tea was far from the worst female lead I’ve ever read, but I couldn’t bring myself to care about her journey.  I feel that Chupeco put amazing detail into the world, but the personalities of her characters were so underwhelming compared to it.

Another issue I had with this book, that some of you might actually like, was the little snapshots of Tea’s future between chapters.  They were interesting to see, but they seemed to have no correlation to each other or to the story.  I think it would have been interesting to see how they all tied together in the end, but unfortunately I wasn’t invested enough in the story to find out.

Even though I couldn’t connect this story, I want to recommend this book to people who enjoyed Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo.  Her writing style and Chupeco’s writing style are very similar, and if you connected to Bardugo’s writing, I think you would enjoy this story. If this sounds like a book you would like, please give it a try.  I would hate to dissuade someone who would enjoy this book from reading it just because I didn’t like it. However, if you also can’t connect to this book, I feel you.

Are you interested in reading The Bone Witch? I’m interested to know!

5 thoughts on “ARC Review: The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

  1. I’ve heard so many mixed thoughts over this book. It’s either been a DNF, a regretful read, or mixed feelings. I have yet to see something higher than three stars. It’s unfortunate because it looks so interesting.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

