WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesday (Feb. 22, 2017)

Hello, Bookish Buddies, and welcome to my WWW Wednesday post, hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words!  In case you aren’t familiar with my WWW Wednesday posts, they are a weekly update of what I’m reading, what I finished reading, and proof that I’m not psychic in the form of my miserable attempt at guessing what I’m reading next.  Let’s get to it!

What am I currently reading?

  1. The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco – I got an ARC of this book a few days ago, which I requested after reading one line of the synopsis, which was: “Let me be clear: I never intended to raise my brother from his grave, though he may claim otherwise.”  That line intrigued me, and the beginning of the book just gets right to the point. I don’t really get what’s going on so far, as I’ve only read a little bit, but I’m excited to keep reading.
  2. Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge – For those of you who don’t know (I assume that’s most of you) I pick a random book from my ever-growing Goodreads TBR every month and read it.  This month’s book was Crimson Bound.  I’m listening to the audiobook and I don’t really get what’s going on, but similarly to The Bone Witch, I just started it.
  3. More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera – So I saw a video on youtube yesterday of Christine from PolandBananasBooks interviewing Adam Silvera, and then I watched Jessethereader’s interview with him, and I was also wondering what I felt like reading at the moment, when I looked up and saw this book on my shelf.  I’ve just started it and I like it so far.

What did I recently finish reading?

  1. Fire by Kristen Cashore – I loved this book a lot more than I was expecting to. Everything about it was just so captivating.
  2. Truthwitch by Susan Dennard – I decided after about 60 pages that I wasn’t in the mood for this reread and I didn’t have the patience to wait for Windwitch to become available on Overdrive. When less people want the audiobook, I’ll do my reread.
  3. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald – My class just finished reading this.  The ending was not what I expected.  I hoped to like it a lot more, but I wasn’t really a fan. Also, side note, Leo DiCaprio looks like he hasn’t aged a day in the movie from Titanic to the Gatsby movie.  What’s up with that?
  4. Optimists Die First by Susin Nielsen – This was a fun, yet heavy, quick read. I really enjoyed it. If you want to hear more of my thoughts, my review is here.

What do I think I’ll read next?

7747374

I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore – This is my random Goodreads book for March, and I just so happen to have a copy.  I’ve heard great things about this book from my cousin/best friend, so I’m really excited.

What have you read this week?

5 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday (Feb. 22, 2017)

  1. Oh, I finished Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge recently! I was quite disappointed by it, but I’m going to try Crimson Bound. Fingers crossed it’s good! 😛

    And agh! I love the Graceling trilogy! It doesn’t get the hype it deserves! Graceling is my favorite, then Bitterblue, and then Fire. Fire wasn’t the absolute best, in my opinion. Have you read the other books yet? kIf you haven’t, I recommend it!)

    Ah, my friend loves the Lorien Legacies (is that the name?)! Tell me how you like it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you liked Crimson Bound better! I still don’t really understand what’s going on. It seems like a generic YA fantasy novel right now, but I’m hoping something happens to set it apart from the rest.
      I have read Graceling, but I haven’t read Bitterblue. It’s super high on my TBR though.
      I think it is called the Lorien Legacies and I definitely will!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, Cruel Beauty was supposed to be a variant of Beauty and the Beast, and it was, but it just… wasn’t? I don’t know, it was weird. XD

        Ah, yes, Bitterblue is great! I love Graceling. It’s sooo good. PO. *sobs*

        😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

