Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Liked More/Less Than I Thought I Would

Hello, Bookish Buddies, and welcome to today’s Top Ten Tuesday hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. I couldn’t choose whether to do books I liked more or less, so I decided to do five of each.  Now let’s get to the books! Note: they are in no particular order.

Books I Liked Less Than I Thought I Would:

1. The Raven Boys by Maggie Steifvater

17675462I had heard such great things about this series and I was so excited to get into it, but Steifvater’s writing style just isn’t for me.  I feel like she tells the most incredible, intricate stories in the most boring way possible.  I really wish I could enjoy her writing more, because her stories are so awesome and imaginative.

2. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

10194157This book made me really sad.  The covers were so beautiful, but the stories were just not. Shadow and Bone to me was just filled to the brim with the most unlikeable characters in a world that had potential if it was fleshed out more.

3. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

256683Reading the synopsis of this book, I knew it would be so hard to build a world like the Shadowhunter world and sell it to the reader, but I thought I could by it because it was so loved by so many people.  Unfortunately, it missed the mark for me, but I am happy for all of my fellow readers who get to enjoy it.

4. What Light by Jay Asher

29093326After Thirteen Reasons Why, I thought Jay Asher could do no wrong. I was mistaken. I’ve already mentioned this book in so many other posts, so I won’t really get into it, but it was just so mediocre.

5. You Know Me Well by Nina LaCour and David Levathin

27158835Is it really too much to ask for decent LGBTQ+ fiction? If you have any recommendations for me, please leave them in the comments. This book had so much potential, but all of the characters seemed so fake and the storyline made no sense.

Books I Liked More Than I Thought I Would:

1. Fire by Kristin Cashore

6137154This one comes to mind because I finished it a half hour ago.  I loved it.  It was beautiful.  It was my first full 5 stars of the year (I think. I’m too lazy to check). I actually liked it even better than Graceling.  I loved the world, the characters, the political turmoil, and I actually liked the romance. I usually hate romances most of the time, but I loved this one.

2. Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

24807186I don’t think I’ve made many posts without mentioning this book.  Honestly, I didn’t think I’d enjoy Wolf by Wolf and I was really disappointed to receive it in my Uppercase Box because I was super over history class last year and the sci-fi aspect seemed unrealistic.  I was wrong.  Past me can eat my words.  I love this book.  It is my favorite book of all time, and if any one of you is turned off by the historical aspect or the sci-fi aspect or whatever, don’t be.  It’s epic.

3. The Selection by Kiera Cass

10507293This was actually one of the first books that got me into YA. It was recommended to me at some kind of book fair, and I was really skeptical, because even then I wasn’t into princesses and romance (yes I was, but the cover made it look extremely cheesy). And yes, it is cheesy, but it’s really addicting, exactly like The Bachelor, which I totally don’t watch #TeamRaven.

4. Not If I See You First by Eric Lindstrom

22701879I was really excited for this book, but we get a terrible first impression of the main character.  I thought I was going to hate her, but she redeemed herself pretty quickly.  I honestly love this book and I think I’m overdue for a reread.

5. Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld

18367581This book sounded epic from the moment I heard about it, but I didn’t realize just how epic it was until I actually read it.  Darcy Patel is everything I aspired to be when I read the book.  For those of you who don’t know, it is told in alternating chapters between the story of a young YA author (Darcy) getting her debut novel published and the paranormal romance novel she writes about a girl who becomes a psychopomp (Lizzie). Although I didn’t especially enjoy Lizzie’s half of the book, I like to think it was artfully crappy for the purpose of the story.

What books did you like more/less than you thought you would?

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Liked More/Less Than I Thought I Would

  1. Great post! I just finished 13 Reasons Why from Jay Asher and was planning on starting What Light next, but now I’m not so sure -haha. I’m super cautious when it comes to starting new books because whenever I don’t like it I tend to go into like week-long reading slumps which are never fun.
    I look forward to reading more from you in the future Bella… Happy Reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

