Reviews

Review: The Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan

Hello, Bookish Buddies, and welcome to my review of The Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan.  For those of you who don’t know, this is the third book in the Percy Jackson series, and this review will contain spoilers, so proceed with caution.  For those of you who want to refresh your memory of The Titan’s Curse, here is the synopsis:


561456IT’S NOT EVERYDAY YOU FIND YOURSELF IN COMBAT WITH A HALF-LION, HALF-HUMAN.

But when you’re the son of a Greek god, it happens. And now my friend Annabeth is missing, a goddess is in chains and only five half-blood heroes can join the quest to defeat the doomsday monster.

Oh, and guess what? The Oracle has predicted that not all of us will survive…

 


**Spoilers Ahead**

You have been warned

So I didn’t like this book as much as I liked the first one, but I liked it better than The Sea of Monsters.  I feel like this series is getting a little bit repetitive. I know the stakes are getting higher, but it’s always the same thing.  They go on a quest, they fight monsters, they get to where they’re going, they fight a monster, and then they go home.  I hope they break this pattern soon.

First things first: Annabeth.  I missed Annabeth.  I don’t think she needed to get kidnapped.  It would’ve been so awesome to see her on that quest.  Also, I’m sensing a pattern here.  Annabeth is present, none of the heroes die.  Annabeth is not present, all the newly introduced Hunters die. We didn’t even need to find Bianca and Nico. Since Bianca dies (maybe, I’m not convinced, but for the sake of this statement I’ll go with it) and Nico runs of to potentially join Luke (also not convinced, but I’ll go with it), Annabeth didn’t need to sacrifice herself to save them and we all could’ve just gone home and had a normal rest of the year. Who cares what would’ve happened to Bianca and Nico, I wasn’t all that attached to them anyway.

Also, there’s that little problem that Nico, the son of Hades, is on the loose and Percy decides not to tell anyone for seemingly no apparent reason. Am I the only one who sees the danger of that?  Nico could mess shit up!

Also, how did Luke survive? He fell off a cliff! That’s not how physics works!  Anyway, all of the evil people are fine and dandy for the next two books. Percy is a lot like me, doing just enough to keep his problems at bay until they all take over his life and he gets really screwed.  Now he’s got major issues, probably involving battling in a labyrinth (wild guess).

As much as I am ranting, I still really enjoyed this book for the most part.  My favorite part was the Hoover Dam scene, where they’re all making jokes and Zoe doesn’t get it because apparently damn wasn’t invented when she…talked to people last? I guess?

Overall, I gave this book a 4/5.  Now for my favorite chapter titles! Everybody Hates Me But the Horse, I Have a Dam Problem, and I Get a New Enemy for Christmas.

What did you think about The Titan’s Curse?

2 thoughts on “Review: The Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan

Leave a Reply

