Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Wish Had More Authentic Characters In Them

Hello, Bookish Buddies, and welcome to this Top Ten Tuesday post, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, that gave me way too much freedom for the prompt!  After sitting and staring at my bookshelf for ten minutes, I finally came up with my prompt!  I am not good at being creative. Anyway, something I find myself critiquing a lot in books I read is the authenticity and realness of characters, and I think there are a good amount of books to fit this prompt, so let’s get into them!  Disclaimer: I have a lot of negative things to say about most of the books on this list, so please don’t take my opinions personally. If you loved any of these stories, I’m glad. I am roasting these books in the name of humor.

10. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

22328546So I actually really liked Red Queen, but from the beginning you can tell that the characters don’t seem fully fleshed out (except for one), and they just feel less and less authentic as the series goes on.

 

 

 

 

9. Trial By Fire by Josephine Angelini

20613491Now this book had a lot of issues, and the characters were definitely one of them. All of the men in this book were like the idealized douche kind.  And also, the main character, Lily, is a completely illogical combination of knowing what is going on and not knowing what is going on.  You’ll get it if you’ve read the book.  It’s kinda hard to explain.

 

 

 

 

8. What Light by Jay Asher

29093326I was truly disappointed by this book after reading Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher.  All of his characters were so deep and fleshed out in that book, and all of the characters in What Light seemed like any old Mary Sue and whatever the male name for Mary Sue is.  They were all so replaceable and forgettable.

 

 

 

7. These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

13138635Honestly, these people just went from hating each other to loving each other so fast and it was so cheesy. I mean, yeah, I get when you and everyone you love crashes and dies on a random planet somewhere in the universe, you’re gonna be a little distraught and irritable. I get it.  We’ve all been there. But the relationship between these two characters was just astonishingly ingenuine.

 

 

 

6. Starflight by Melissa Landers

21793182I don’t get why it’s so difficult to have epic characters in sci-fi space odyssey novels.  I mean all of the sci-fi novels I’ve ever read (excluding Illuminae) have had the absolute worst characters and it’s really sad.  Ugh, now I’m in the mood for an epic sci-fi novel.  I should start Gemina already.

 

 

 

 

5. Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

12700353I get that the characters in this book are supposed to be sad and distraught, but it is not possible to reach the levels of inconsiderate doucheness that Earl and whatshisface reach without being a sociopath.

 

 

 

 

 

4. No Safety in Numbers by Dayna Lorentz

12971664I read this book a while back, but I remember that this series is the most messed up series I’ve ever read.  It’s about a bunch of people that get quarantined inside of a mall because of some virus outbreak, and they all start killing each other for literally no reason.  It’s not even a symptom of the virus. And it’s not even necessary.

 

 

 

3. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

10194157I know this one is a major unpopular opinion, but Alina Starkov was literal cardboard personified.  I know it sounds harsh, and I don’t mean to offend anyone that particularly connected with her, but I didn’t understand her motives or her thought process whatsoever.  She seemed like any other female YA protagonist minus the defining traits that makes her unique.

 

 

 

2. All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

18460392I wanted to love this book. I really did.  And at the time I read it, I think I did, but now I realize its flaws.  Let me explain. This book covers a lot of mental health topics, including suicidal thoughts. I was so glad to see a representation of a suicidal character in a YA novel, but the suicidal character in this book was so off.  I should know, I work at a suicide prevention hotline. I can’t really go into details without spoiling it, but if you want me to post some kind of spoiler discussion on this book, let me know in the comments, because I’m glad to talk about these kinds of things.

 

 

1. You Know Me Well by Nina LaCour and David Levithan

27158835I was really looking forward to this book because it sounded epic, but absolutely nothing in this story sounded realistic. Especially the characters.  They were all irrational and all of their relationships with one another didn’t add up.  I guess if you’re more of a feel good reader and you aren’t necessarily bothered by inconsistent characters, then I would recommend this book. I still think a lot of people might enjoy it.

 

 

 


So I was a bit more harsh than I thought I’d be for a lot of these.  I’m sorry if that bothered you, and you’re welcome if you thought it was funny. I feel like my true persona is coming out as I get more comfortable on the book blogging community.

Who are some book characters that you thought were inauthentic?

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Wish Had More Authentic Characters In Them

  1. I liked this topic a lot! I started Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, but never finished it. I thought the movie was fantastic. I think the film does a good job at demonstrating Greg’s issues so I wonder if it just does not translate as well in the book because of it’s format. I can see where you’re coming from though at the same time.

    My character I wish was more authentic was Jace from the Mortal Instruments Series. I don’t know if this is because I read the Infernal Devices first and Will Herrondale is just so much better. I know he’s supposed to be abnormal, but I wish he was more authentic or something. I don’t know.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I’m glad you liked it. I haven’t seen the Me and Earl and the Dying Girl movie, but I finished the book and gave it a 2 stars because I hated the characters and there was a homophobic comment in the end. I agree with you about Jace, I only really connected with Izzy and Alec in that book.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve only read the first book, so I don’t know if I’m qualified to say anything about the series, but I didn’t connect to Jace and Clary at all.

        Like

Leave a Reply

