Reviews

Review: The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan

Hello, Bookish Buddies, and welcome to my review of The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan. For those of you who don’t know, this is the second book in the Percy Jackson series, so this review will contain spoilers for both the first book and the second book. If you would like to hear my thoughts about the first book without spoilers, then look no further, that is here. If you would like to hear some non-spoilerly thoughts on book two, fear not. I have written the following sentence just for you: I enjoyed The Sea of Monsters, but not as much as the first book. There you go.  Now, for all of you who are staying for the spoiler section, here is the synopsis of the book to refresh your memory:


28186The heroic son of Poseidon makes an action-packed comeback in the second must-read installment of Rick Riordan’s amazing young readers series. Starring Percy Jackson, a “half blood” whose mother is human and whose father is the God of the Sea, Riordan’s series combines cliffhanger adventure and Greek mythology lessons that results in true page-turners that get better with each installment. In this episode, The Sea of Monsters, Percy sets out to retrieve the Golden Fleece before his summer camp is destroyed, surpassing the first book’s drama and setting the stage for more thrills to come.

 

 


*******SPOILERS AHEAD********

You have been warned.

So if you’re still reading, you have clearly either read the book or have no problem being spoiled, so let’s get into my thoughts!  I’m just going to go in order of what I wrote down in my notes, so sorry if this post is a little disorganized, I’m not good at spoilers.

The first note I wrote was about Percabeth. I already see it coming, and I am all for it. When they get a little older of course. Romantic relationships between twelve year olds never end well. But I honestly can’t wait to see how their relationship develops! Percy is such a seventh grade boy! It’s hilarious.

As you know, if you have read this book, Grover doesn’t really appear until later in the book, and I seriously missed him.  I mean, it was kind of rude for him to tie his life to Percy’s and basically threaten his life as well, but I miss his adorable awkwardness. I could really feel for Percy when he was afraid that he wouldn’t find Grover and that he would die (I mean, I obviously knew he would live because Grover is kind of important to the plot, but still).  One thing I love about Rick Riordan’s writing is how much you feel for his characters.

Next, I want to talk about Clarisse. I kind of have mixed feelings about her. Like I said above, you really feel for her character, but I also feel like she’s kind of rude just to be rude.  I feel like she’d be an awesome ally for Percy and the gang (which she kind of was until the end of the book), but I feel like she’s just kinda there to be a bully.

We were also introduced to Tyson in this book, who kind of annoyed be at first, but became totally lovable as time went on. My favorite Tyson moment was when he showed up with the donuts from the donut store that popped up next to them and Percy and Annabeth were just astonished.

I’ve noticed that all of my notes are about characters.  Whatever, the characters in this book are cool.  Continuing with the character theme, let’s talk about Luke. I think he’s really dumb. I can kind of see where he’s coming from with the whole destroying Western civilization because it’s overrated shit, but I don’t think he realizes how bad titans ruling the world would be.  He just seems pretty damn ungrateful, when so many people at Camp Half Blood have given up so much for him.

Last character!  Can you guess who it is? It’s Percy. I was actually kinda disappointed in how dumb he was.  Like, with the strawberry milkshake incident. I feel like he would have learned from the Lotus Hotel in the first book to question a conveniently placed spa that offers free makeovers and strawberry milkshakes.

Also, I have some things to say about the Party Ponies.  They were epic and hilarious and totally uncalled for but completely necessary. I feel like they just added a bit of extra pizazz to the end of the story.  Best plot twist in literature, 10/10.

And lastly, I would like to share some of my favorite chapter titles (yes, I will be doing this for all of my Percy Jackson reviews). My favorites were: ‘We Hail the Taxi of Eternal Torment’, ‘Clarisse Blows Everything Up’ and ‘Annabeth Tries to Swim Home’.

Overall, I gave The Sea of Monsters a 3.5/5 stars.

What did you think of The Sea of Monsters?

4 thoughts on “Review: The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan

Leave a Reply

