Tag Friday

New Year’s Resolutions Book Tag

Hello, Bookish Buddies, and welcome to the first tag that I’ve done that I was actually tagged in! So thanks to Becky from Book to the Becky!  Definitely check out her blog, it’s awesome! Now, onto the books!

1. An author I’d like to read (that I’ve never read before).

For this one, I am going to go with a super cool indie author, Jenna Moreci. I watch her writing videos on YouTube and they’re all super funny and helpful.  I would definitely recommend checking them out (here) if you could use some writing tips!  Her book, Eve: The Awakening, has been sitting on my shelf for way too long and I need to get to it.

2. A book I’d like to read.

Damn, this one isn’t vague at all. It’s not like there are over 200 books on my Goodreads TBR. I guess I’ll go with The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Adieh, because it’s sitting on my shelf right now and it’s catching my eye.

3. A classic I’d like to read.

I’ve really wanted to try some Jane Austen lately.  I’m thinking of going with EmmaPride and Prejudice, or Sense and Sensibility.  Let me know which one I should start with!

4. A book I’d like to re-read.

A lot, but the first one that comes to mind is Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld, since I loved it so much the first time.

5. A book I’ve had for ages and want to read.

Again, there are way too many of these. I think The Young Elites by Marie Lu is the one I’ve had the longest, since I got it around when it first came out and have failed to read it since then. So yeah, I need to get on that.

6. A big book I’d like to read.

The biggest book I have is The Diviners by Libba Bray, and I’ve also been wanting to read that for a really long time, so maybe I’ll get to it this year. Hopefully.

7. An author I’ve previously read and want to read more of.

The first one that comes to mind is David Levathin. I read You Know Me Well by him and Nina LaCour last year and I kinda hated it, but I still want to read more from him, since I refuse to believe all of his writing is not my taste.  The same goes for Nina LaCour. So I guess both of them then.

8. A book I got for Christmas and would like to read.

So nobody buys me books for Christmas, since I have so many, so I guess I’ll just share one I got for myself with gift cards I got for Christmas.  I actually got myself more manga than I did books, since I’m a hoarder and I need to read the ones I have, but the one book I did buy myself was Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. I read Illuminae and really enjoyed it, so I’m excited to continue with the series.

9. A series I want to read (start and finish)

This series is the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan. Plus all of the spin off series. I’m already on The Sea of Monsters and I’m enjoying it!

10. A series I want to finish (that you’ve already started)

I’m just gonna go with the obvious answer and say the Throne of Glass series. I’m honestly so excited to finish it!

11. Do I set reading goals? If so, how many books do I want to read in 2017?

Yes, I do set a Goodreads goal, but I reassess it in the middle of the year to see if I can increase it or I have to decrease it. Right now, it’s 45 books, but I’ve actually read more books this month than I have any other month, so maybe I’ve learned the secret to reading faster.

12. Any other reading goals?

I want to not be afraid to DNF books if I’m not interested in them. I have trouble doing that. I normally give a series a book and a half before I DNF it, but I just don’t want to waste my time if I’m not enjoying it.

So that’s it for this tag! I’m not going to tag anyone, because honestly, I feel like it’s been 2017 forever, but if you want to do this tag, do it!  I’d love to see your answers! Adios!

7 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions Book Tag

  1. That awkward moment when you realize you left out a question on your own post of this tag. Oops…lol I also want to read The Wraith and the Dawn too and can’t wait for the final Throne of Glass book to come out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

