Tag Friday

Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

Hello, Bookish Buddies, and welcome to my Unpopular Opinions Book Tag (original by TheBookArcher on Youtube)!  Since I’m new at this, and I suppose all of these unpopular opinions would come out at some point, I thought I should just put them all out there. Here we go!

1. A Popular Book or series that you didn’t like.

Honestly, there are very many, but I’m going to go with the most controversial one, because why not? My answer for this question is City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. I know, I feel like this is the ultimate unpopular bookish opinion.  To be honest, I liked it up until the end, but the ending completely ruined it for me. It was so cheesy and inauthentic, I couldn’t stand it, and I honestly don’t see how the series can recover from that ending. However, I’m still going to continue on with the series (at some point), because I tend to give series a book and a half before DNFing them.

2. A Popular Book or series that every one else seems to hate but you love.

For this one, I’m going to go with The Selection series by Kiera Cass. Like most others who like this series, this is my guilty pleasure read. Kiera Cass’s writing is so addicting to me. Everyone hates the last two books, and I see why, but I didn’t really hate them. They ended the way I wanted them to, so it’s all good.

3. A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with (warn ppl for spoilers) OR an OTP that you don’t like.

I have a deep hatred for love triangles, so I rarely read books where they are present.  An OTP that I don’t like is Doran and I forget her name (Solara) from Starflight by Melissa Landers.  I just hated them in general, but they did not work as a couple. Doran was a sociopathic bully and I think Solara has really bad judgement for even associating herself with him.

4. A popular book Genre that you hardly reach for.

Romance. If a book’s only focus is on a romance, I will whole heartedly hate it. I’m fine with romance in books (if it’s well done), but if it is one of the major plot points, I’m over it.

5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like.

Mare Barrow from the Red Queen series. She has the right to be angsty and sulky, but she fails to see anything good in the world. Also, Kilorn is a crappy character, but I’m not gonna go off on a tangent about him. Actually, everyone in the Red Queen series (except for Shade) pisses me off.

6. A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.

This one is an easy one. Leigh Bardugo. I read the first book and a half of the Grisha trilogy and I hated it. I’ve also read a few short stories by her that weren’t quite as bad, but I didn’t enjoy them either.

7. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)

Pretty much all of the above ^, but I’m going to come up with an original one as well. I am sick of near perfect men.  If a male character is painted as “perfect”, I automatically hate him. Even if he is supposed to be really lovable.

8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading.

This one goes with number six. I am not at all interested in reading the Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo. I could not stand the Grisha world, I cannot stand Leigh Bardugo’s incredibly unlikeable characters, I can’t stand any of it.

9. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

I really liked the Mockingjay Part II movie. I actually loved that movie. I DNF’ed Mockingjay the book because I had to return it to the library and I never got around to picking it up again. I don’t know if this counts, though. I’m not a big TV or movie person, so I don’t have a better answer.

So there are my answers. I actually really enjoyed ranting about these books I didn’t like. I hope nobody takes offense over any of my answers. That’s awesome if you like any of the things I don’t like, I’m happy for you.

Do you agree with any of my unpopular opinions? What are yours?

13 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

  1. It took me at least three attempts to actually read City of Bones. I DNF’ed it twice before because I just couldn’t get into it. I randomly got into the Infernal Devices Trilogy and loved it. I only picked City of Bones back up so I could read the later books as there is crossover.

    Also, I am so with you on the last two books of the Selection Series. I can see why people didn’t like them but I didn’t hate them. That whole series is definitely a guilty pleasure of mine too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha, I’m with you on Mare Barrow, I find her really frustrating, she doesn’t abide by the rules of common sense. It was all quite clear to me about Maven, I wanted to shake her, Kilorn leaves a lot to be desired too. I haven’t read the others, but if I hate them too I’ll come back and tell you 😂 I watched Mockjay the other day & enjoyed it as much as the books if anything.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah I know what you mean, I felt it was a bit disjointed. I want to love her, but I can’t. She needs to stop whinging and start fighting. In the end I was just a bit like, why have you done this? 😂I’m hoping the final one will set my feelings right & just be epic. Yesss ❤ so good, I came so late to the party with The Hunger Games, but really glad I got round to them.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

