Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Hidden Gems

Hello, Bookish Buddies, and welcome to today’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. All of the books I’m mentioning have under 50,000 Goodreads ratings and I gave either a four or five (or high three) stars to! The books will be in order of most to least Goodreads ratings. A lot of my favorites are on this list, so I’m super excited!

10. Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin

359410Elsewhere is a fun, light hearted read about death. You don’t hear that often, huh?  It features a fifteen year old girl named Liz, who gets killed in a hit and run bike accident and goes to Elsewhere, which is sort of like heaven. In Elsewhere, people grow younger until they become babies and are returned to Earth. Yes, this book has many flaws, but they are easily overlooked because it is such a fun read.

 

 

 

9. The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

19321432The Beginning of Everything tells the story of a boy named Ezra, who was an athlete before his kneecap gets shattered in a car accident. After leaving his friend group that consisted of jocks and cheerleaders, he makes new friends and rekindles old friendships in the debate team. I hope you enjoyed my half assed summary, it’s been a while since I read this book. The main thing I liked about this book was the friendships, which were more emphasized than in most contemporaries.

 

 

 

8. Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch


17399160Snow Like Ashes
has the epic feel of the Throne of Glass series, but with a completely unique plot. It features an awesome and unique world, a slightly annoying but super badass protagonist, and a really lovable prince. I hope to read the next two books in the trilogy in the near future.

 

 

 

7. Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld


18367581Afterworlds 
is another one of my all time favorites. It is so compelling, telling the story of a girl and her journey publishing a book she wrote in NaNoWriMo and the story she writes in alternating chapters. Although I wasn’t a fan of the paranormal story that the main character, Darcy, wrote, it added an entirely new level of complexity to the story, showing the reader what edits she made and why. I would definitely recommend it to any aspiring writers who happen to be reading this post.

 

 

6. Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

24807186-12-58-32-pm

It makes me so sad that this book doesn’t get nearly as much love as it deserves. I just started my blog, and I feel like I’ve mentioned this book in almost every post, because it is that amazing. I just reread it in preparation for the sequel, which I plan to start tomorrow, and it was just as amazing as I remember. Seriously, read this book. If you want to hear more of my thoughts about Wolf by Wolf, check out my review here.

 

 

 

5. First and Then by Emma Mills

23310751First and Then is Emma Mills’s debut novel, which features a girl named Devon, who has joined the school newspaper for her college application (relatable). Through doing an article about the football team, Devon bonds with her younger cousin, Foster, and a transfer football star named Ezra. Although I’m really not into sports, the adorable familial relationship between Devon and Foster is really touching.

 

 

 

4. Zeroes by Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan, and Deborah Biancotti

24885636The premise for this book was so unique. It’s basically about teenagers with super powers that nobody really wants. It is funny and unlike anything I have ever read before. Plus, it has a super diverse cast of characters that you can’t help but root for.

 

 

3. Slasher Girls and Monster Boys edited by April Genevieve Tucholke

19364719I read this epic horror anthology in October of last year, and I loved the majority of the stories. They were all creepy in their own special ways, and they were perfect for the month of October (or anytime you’re in the mood for horror/thrillers). My favorites were In the Forest Dark and Deep by Carrie Ryan,  Hide and Seek by Megan Shepherd, and Stitches by A.G. Howard.

 

 

 

2. Not If I See You First by Eric Lindstrom

22701879From the synopsis of Not If I See You First, I thought I was going to despise the main character as I do with most female leads in YA contemporary, but that was so not the case. Parker was so awesome and strong and overall inspiring. She went blind due to a car accident when she was younger, giving her a unique point of view. She grows so much throughout the course of the story, making it one of my all time favorite contemporaries.

 

 

1. Like No Other by Una LaMarche

18667862This was one of the first books I read when I got back into reading in ninth grade.  I think the plot moved at a perfect pace to keep the reader engaged, but not an unrealistically fast pace. Religion was also a heavy theme in this book, which really interested me, as I am not, nor have I ever been, religiously affiliated in any way. I read this book a while ago, so my opinions might vary now that I’ve aged a couple years, but I have fond memories of it!

 

 

 

Got any underrated recs for me? I’d love to hear them!

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Hidden Gems

Leave a Reply

