Tag Friday

2016 End of the Year Book Survey

Hello, person who may have stumbled across this post for whatever reason. Welcome to my very first blog post! I’ve been wanting to start a blog for a while and this questionnaire-thing looked really fun, so I thought it would be a good way to start off my blog and give you, lovely reader, a little insight on my bookish tastes. So without further ado, here we go!

reading-stats-2016-1024x278-768x209

Number Of Books You Read: 40
Number of Re-Reads: 1
Genre You Read The Most From: YA Fantasy

best-ya-books-2014-900x244

1. Best Book You Read In 2016?

I am going to be completely unoriginal here and say Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas. Sorry, not sorry. I am a die hard Throne of Glass fan.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

I thought I was going to love You Know Me Well by Nina LaCour and David Levithan, but it seemed so unrealistic and I was really disappointed. I hoped so much that it would be good since I’m always on the look out for awesome LGBTQ+ fiction.

 3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?  

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. I established earlier that I am Sarah J. Maas trash, and the ending of ACOMAF blew me away.

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

Nobody ever reads books I recommend to them, which makes me really sad, but I did convince my dad and one of my friends to read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children before the movie came out, so I consider that a success.

 5. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016?

Series: The A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas (I’m really trying not to be repetitive, but all of the other series I started in 2016 really let me down as they went on)
Sequel: Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Mass ^(see disclaimer above)
Series Ender: I finally have something new to say! My favorite series ender of 2016 was Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs.

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016?

Nicola Yoon! I can’t wait to read The Sun is Also a Star in 2017!

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

Slasher Girls and Monster Boys! It was such a kickass anthology and I loved it, even though I don’t read much horror.

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey. I read it at the beginning of this year and I still remember how I couldn’t put it down.

 9. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

Probably all of the Sarah J. Maas books. My friend and I have plans to binge read them before the releases of A Court of Wings and Ruin and ToG 6.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?

My favorite cover has to be from All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. I thought the book was okay, but the cover was beautiful.

11. Most memorable character of 2016?

Probably Lysandra from the Throne of Glass series. I really tried to pick someone from another authors books, but I couldn’t think of any.

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

Technically it’s not a book, but a short story within the anthology Slasher Girls and Monster Boys.  However, In the Forest Dark and Deep by Carrie Ryan was beautifully written.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016?

I wouldn’t say it was life-changing, but Nimona by Noelle Stevenson was a pretty thought-provoking graphic novel.

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read? 

An Abundance of Katherines by John Green. It definitely wasn’t John Green’s best book, but I enjoyed it.

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2016?

“She was happy, yes, in her own way, as best as she knew. But there’s a difference between a single candle in darkness and a sunrise.” – Queen Song, Victoria Aveyard

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016?

Shortest: Steel Scars by Victoria Aveyard
Longest: Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

 17. Book That Shocked You The Most

Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

Rowaelin. That’s all I have to say.

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

I loved the relationship between Madeline and Carla in Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon.

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2016 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

Zeroes by Scott Westerfeld. I feel like it is really underrated and everyone should check it out.

21. Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

Empire of Storms. To be honest, I was going to wait until the last book in the series came out to read it so I wouldn’t have to wait in suspense for a year, but my friend made me read it.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?

Shade Barrow

23. Best 2016 debut you read?

I’m looking back on all of the books I’ve read this year, and I don’t think I read any debuts this year. That’s really weird, I’ll have to read more next year.

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

I thought the world building was really good in Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

The Crown by Kiera Cass. It was no where near as good as the original trilogy, but it still made me smile nonetheless.

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2016?

Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard. Not for the reason you might think, though.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

Zeroes by Scott Westerfeld. I know I already mentioned it, but seriously, read it. It’s really good and I haven’t heard many people talk about it.

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

Glass SwordEmpire of StormsACOMAF (I couldn’t pick one)

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2016?

Again, Zeroes by Scott Westerfeld. Seriously, read it.

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

Glass Sword. I really don’t know how I feel about that book. I’m just confused.

looking-ahead-books-2015-900x244

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2015 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017?

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. It’s such a high priority that I’m already reading it.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)?

Throne of Glass Six

3. 2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

A List of Cages by Robin Roe. I don’t know many 2017 debuts, but I’ve heard good things about this one.

 4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2017?

If you’ve read the whole blog post, I think you can guess (both endings by Sarah J. Maas)

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017?

Well, considering I’ve just started this blog, I hope to maintain it well. We’ll see how that goes!

 

5 thoughts on “2016 End of the Year Book Survey

Leave a Reply

